× Members

PIP Appeal success

More
7 years 1 month ago #184605 by standswithafist
PIP Appeal success was created by standswithafist
Following all your advice, I'm pleased to say that I won my PIP appeal At Tribunal - high rate care and low rate mobility.
I have M.E, low thyroid, anxiety and depression and asthma. I have carers 3 times a day and Personal Assistants 5 days a week.
Evidence was provided from my GP, Social Worker, prescription, care Agency including care plan and risk assessment. I 'd had a face to face assessment at home, witnessed by a PA. A letter of support provided by DIAL House disability Rights Adviser.
I also told of membership of a local Neurotherapy Centre, Blue Badge and motability scheme at a large Shopping Centre.
I had challenged the decision by the Assessor to score 7 pts for care and objected to the attitude of the Decision Maker in what I considered to be an offensive view of needs of the disabled person.
I am a retired Registered Nurse and Midwife, knew my rights and am capable of fighting my corner. Despite all this, because of the level of anxiety that months of this process had caused, I burst in to tears when I entered the court.
The Judge, Doctor and Expert Carer told me that my submission was good. I still had 45 minutes of answering questions and my carer 10 minutes of questions.
I believe that because I did not need to refer to my notes that my answers matched what I 'd written. We waited outside the court while the decision was made.
I received the backdated sum from DWP and am now receiving the correct amount.
I can honestly say that the Court process was a complete waste of public funds as I had given all the required information on the first application.
Please fight, don't give up and get as much supporting evidence as you can - at least it helps you feel like you're not a criminal in Court!
Good luck and many thanks to this site and Moderators for your wisdom.
Best wishes Standswithafist
Des