× Members

CFS: how they assess concentration & memory

More
7 years 6 days ago #187637 by nick h.
I thought members might be interested in this. I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and these are some questions asked by the assessor at my assessment on Tuesday.

"Subtract 7 from 105". I answered 98. Then: "subtract 7 from 98". This continued five more times, with me subtracting 7 from the previous answer. I answered all these correctly.

"Spell 'World' backwards." I got this right. I said I used to be a journalist, hoping to make the point that getting this right ought to be easier for me than for some other CFS sufferers.

"I'm going to read out three words. Then I'm going to ask you some other questions. Then I'm going to ask you to repeat the three words: 'table', 'book' and 'paper'. I tried my best but I forgot one of the words.

There may have been a couple more questions but these are the ones I can remember. Now I'm wondering whether I scored too highly! The assessor was very friendly and I didn't try to exaggerate my symptoms. I'm worried that this was a big mistake. Given that the system is all about Tories screwing the disabled, it seems to me that it would not be immoral to over-egg things. But I didn't. And now I'm worried. I'm getting DLA at the higher rate for care and the lower rate for mobility (I think) and I think I may have just painted a big target on my back.

N.B. The assessor was a nurse. The last time I had a DWP medical, which was the WCA, it was conducted by a doctor because at that time the DWP had a rule that only doctors could examine people with a neurological problem. So this rule has obviously been scrapped. It must save a bit of money.

(My sister has helped me with this post.)
The following user(s) said Thank You: Gordon

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 6 days ago #187682 by Donna2512
Replied by Donna2512 on topic CFS: how they assess concentration & memory