× Members

PIP taken from me after re assessment with physical ailment

More
11 months 2 weeks ago #279680 by Donagon
Hey there guys

I'm a newbie here so apologies if I get things wrong.

I was accepted for PIP back in November 2022, this was related to Depression and Anxiety, funnily enough in the same month I was admitted to hospital with a crazy infection and I ended up being diagnosed with Inflammatory Bowel Disease and Clostridium Difficile.

I let the DWP know when I came out of hospital two weeks later (was in for two weeks) and this triggered another re assessment. Had it in March. Just received a letter today to say that, I wont be awarded anything AND they are taking the previous award too, as I don't meet the criteria anymore.

When I received this letter earlier today I was pissed off and angry, how my mental and physical circumstances are now worse, but I am seen as better! I did have a bad feeling during the re assessment phone call as the HP just didnt really care.

As of now, I have notified the DWP of the notice to review the decision, and I have wrote an appeal which I will be sending off soon (with the help of your guide by the way which was helpful in putting together something, spent all damn day on it) with the point system what I should have got, and why, etc.

What I wanna know is, has this happened to anyone else? whats the likely of success?, I don't particularly wanna go to a tribunal (have had court experiences, they weren't great)

I am just baffled at not the fact that it wasn't any more funds, but they took it upon themselves to take off the previous award even though they were technically different things, but its all together in one big bubble now.

It was stressing me out, since now I will be down financially which is what I need as Physically, I am not doing great, and with a recent diagnosis I having to learn to adapt to this thing.

Any advice, opinions would be appreciative.

The following user(s) said Thank You: KABTT