× Members

Moving in with partner on esa, I’m on UC- lots of confusion from CA

More
2 months 3 days ago #288264 by Abio
Hi!
So me and my partner are hoping to move in together soon.
My partner receives enhanced living pip, plus standard mobility (which won’t change when we live together)
But he is currently on esa, prior to this he was on incapacity benefit and so he gets contribution based esa with IR top up? From what I can tell, but his esa letter isn’t very clear.
I am a full time student and I claim UC.
When he moves in with me I will be expected to update my UC at which point we’re not sure where we will stand. They have said he must then also make a claim for uc once we move in.

Now based on ESA I’ve had conflicting info, one person said that because he gets the income related too up his entire esa claim is classed as a legacy benefit and therefore, the entire esa claim will close and he will have to claim soley UC, which will be fine, until I graduate when my earnings will wipe out most of not all of the UC claim.
Whereas someone else has told me that when he rings up to change his circumstances to esa, that he will be able to request to have his income related removed and be put on solely ESA contribution based, but that he would loose his disability protection payment thing, which is fine. I understand if he is on contribution based soley it gets taken off £:£ which is fine because he will then still get it once I am working.
I’m just a bit confused on where we will stand as there isn’t much on anything similar.
Can he be moved onto soley contribution based esa? and if so will this be done automatically? Can we request this?
Or will his entire esa claim be closed when we begin to get uc.

Any help would be appreciated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 months 3 days ago #288265 by Gordon
A