× Members

PIP appeal - appalling appeal writer's comments

More
5 years 6 months ago #228302 by frmarcus
Hello Gordon: Your opinion would be welcome, please.

I'm appealing my PIP outcome. In DWP's response, two things concern me. First, it is firmly suggested that because I submitted "very articulate" MR and appeal submissions, that may raise some doubt about the degree of my mental ill-health (despite its being diagnosed by military psychiatrists in 2007, with reviews and treatment ever since, and resulting in medical discharge from the Forces and a 50% disablement assessment).

I have an academic background and am by profession a priest, having, when 'well', assisted claimants with benefit applications when a hospice chaplain - so I know something of the disability benefits process. All this would entail a relatively articulate presentation - perhaps unusually so. But I'm sure you will immediately appreciate - though I'm keen to know - that articulacy bears no relation whatsoever to a 'neurotic' (generalised anxiety disorder) condition and no inference about one's mental health can be made from it. There is no suggestion in my claim (I have an award but consider it too low) of a learning/cognitive disability - which would be different.

A social worker friend (ie, someone informed in matters of prejudice and discrimination) and I consider it rankly prejudicial to make such a suggestion, which is explicit. Not only is it ill-informed; it suggests that I'm deceptive! This is simply unprofessional, and I'm astounded that DWP would state such a thing (as opposed to sometimes thinking it...) I now understand what 'hostile claimant culture' means: DWP is treating this to some degree as a war of attrition - complete with dirty tricks.