× Members

Non Resident Carer's

More
8 years 1 month ago #154575 by Sherkyl
Non Resident Carer's was created by Sherkyl
OK here's one I would like some input on.

Background:

I am a non resident carer - that is to say I do not live with the people I provide care for and have my own household to upkeep, rent, bills usual living expenses etc.

I am the primary carer for a disabled woman who has a clinical diagnosis for her underlying disability and other disabilities that are in addition to her main condition. For 8 yrs she fought, unsuccessfully, for disability for herself and her disabled son until she eventually gave up.

I gave up work to help them and successfully got an award of higher rate of DLA and Mobility for her; Middle rate DLA , lower rate Mobility and ESA support rate for her son. ( No applause please lol)

These awards enabled me to claim carer's allowance for Her along with income support that passported HB although a loophole allowed the council to only pay a portion of my rent ( a little over 50%). However My ward of care subsidised my allowances to enable me to survive and look after the pair of them from her DLA
All happy bunnies :)

After 4 yrs Mandatory transference to PiP reared it's ugly head a few months ago and a decision letter was received a few days ago that awarded her no daily living component and only standard rate for mobility. Needless to say I have demanded a mandatory reconsideration giving all the reasons in a letter along with some (not all) of the legal arguments. I have also lambasted them for the obvious contradictions, failure to follow their guides and training manuals stupid comments and the actions, attitudes, Lack of knowledge and self admitted failure of the ATOS hp to complete a necessary training manual to asses the case correctly his attitude and conduct during a face to face etc.