× Members

PIP for Chronic Pain, Spinal Spondylosis, Musculoskeletal Osteoarthritis Fibromy

More
1 month 5 days ago #291581 by jjHope
Hi everyone. I am new to this so hope it's okay to ask a couple of questions.

I am 53 and have longstanding chronic pain which started following a riding accident just over 30 years ago in which I severely damaged my coccyx and lower back.

Fast forward many years and ANA flag in bloods caused my GP concern and she referred me urgently for a rheumatologist appointment as she suspected possible rheumatoid arthritis. Further tests ruled this out but I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia Syndrome. I am also diagnosed with chronic Neuropathy due to spinal injury.

I am on intensive pain management programme and take modified release Tapentadol along with Cymbala/duloxetine, amitriptyline and am currently tapering down from 800mgs Pregabalin daily, currently I am on 50mgs twice a day.

I am registered as disabled with my local Council and have a Blue Badge due to my mobility.

I have horrific brain fog and very poor cognitive thinking due to the pain and fibromyalgia.

I am unable to walk more than 50 feet unaided.

My partner is my carer. He cooks and cleans and has to wash and dry my hair due to the pain. He has to get me dressed and undressed due to the pain caused..

I have been asked time and time again to apply for PIP but have been put off by horror stories.

I bit the bullet and end of February I rang and registered my claim with DWP for PIP.

I was told the form would be sent to me but this would take up to 12 weeks. To print off a form? Is this right?

I tried to ring them 3 times last week. Tried both options - new claims and existing claims but after many minutes on hold, the call kept dropping out.

They have no email address.

I wanted some honest advice please.

My pain is amplified when I am under stress. Fibromyalgia flares and the low back spasms and sciatica are impacted also.