× Members

WRAG

More
8 years 5 months ago #144463 by Shelagh12354
WRAG was created by Shelagh12354
Hi, I don't know whether I'm in the right place or not, if not perhaps you can point me in the right direction?

I have been put in the Work Related Activity Group, from what I can see that means I have to attend regular meetings, if I don't I will be sanctioned. I am both Agoraphobic and Sociophobic on top of Fibromyalgia, Osteoarthritis, Cervical Spondylosis prolapsed discs and Carpal Tunnel Syndrome although I am having surgery to hopefully fix one wrist then the other in the not too distant future. I want to work, I go months without seeing or talking to anybody other than my husband, I go through the local papers looking for a job I could do, I am on the bank of the NHS Trust I worked for, I check what's available weekly, I can't find anything I could do. I have a lot of varied experience from clerical work, being a Counsellor to a Riding Instructress none of these I can do now. I don't know what to do, if I'm reading things correctly I will have to claim jobseekers if I appeal, I don't think I can do that as I'm not fit to work, is that how it works? I would also need to go to the job centre to claim jobseekers, would be unable to go into the building without having a panic attack.

Sorry I'm rambling on, basically help, I don't know what to do now?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• foss27
8 years 5 months ago - 8 years 5 months ago #144489 by foss27
Replied by foss27 on topic WRAG
Unfortunately that is how it works.

You can ring to claim jobseekers and explain your predicament.
They will be able to tell you what you will be required to do to get your benefit.
Even if you accept the WRAG you will have to attend regular meetings and undertake activities to avoid sanctions.
Its an impossible situation which thousnds are being subjected to every week.

Correction. You will stay on ESa in the WRAG whilst your appeal is being heard.