× Members

War Disablement Pensions (WDPs)

More
8 years 5 months ago #144528 by Peter
War Disablement Pensions (WDPs) was created by Peter
Hi Folks,
Sorry for long winded narrative.
I'm a veteran and also a war pensioner. I recently took Veterans UK (was previously War Pensions Agency/Services Personnel and Veterans Agency) to a War Pensions Entitlements and Assessments Appeals Tribunal in Belfast. The Tribunal found in my favour and allowed my Entitlements appeal (osteoarthritis of both knees and lower spine) (diagnosed with OA when 35, now 56, had 10 ops since discharge incl 2 recent total knee replacements (TKRs)). A few weeks later I was notified by Veterans UK that they had increased my WDP by 10% to 40% (I was previously on 30% for other injuries attributable to my military service). I have seen Veteran UK publications where they show % for certain conditions (loss of legs, hands, fingers etc etc) but have been unable to identify how their Medical Advisers assess % for the likes of osteoarthritis and the likes. Notwithstanding the TKRs (still very problematic and attending Ortho OPDs on a regular basis) I cannot understand or accept that my conditions warrant only a 10% increase in the WDP. I am presently appealing their decision. For info, the US Veterans Affairs Dept give a minimum of 30% rising to a maximum of 100% for US veterans with replacements knees!
Would anyone know what document Veterans UK Medical Advisers refer to, as despite repeated requests, Veterans UK refuse to divulge!
Now I appreciate this forum normally deals with 'civilian' disability benefits (DLA, PIP, ESA etc) but there are tens of thousands of veterans in receipt of WDP and I feel we are getting a bum deal from Veterans UK!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 5 months ago #144544 by Gordon
Replied by Gordon on topic War Disablement Pensions (WDPs)
Peter