× Members

ESA renewed without me knowing?!

More
8 years 2 months ago - 8 years 2 months ago #151849 by Colin Locock
ESA renewed without me knowing?! was created by Colin Locock
My question is regarding ESA (Support Group) renewal. I have been claiming since early 2013 due to being ill with a Brain Tumour. After a while I called DWP to ask how long my award was for and was told, I think, 18 months. But at that time, and since, I have heard nothing about renewal. All I have heard is that my Consultant sent a bill to them for a medical report. Also I heard nothing after 12 months when I understand I would have switched from CB to IB ESA, but when I asked them for proof of my claim for Housing Benefit after 2 years (I moved house) I was informed that I was claiming Income Based ESA.

Is it possible I was switched to IB ESA without being told and that my ESA (Support Group) was renewed similarly without my being aware, i.e. dealt with by DWP and my Doctors? Also I received another £10 Christmas bonus, paid very late, which I thought was for CB benefits only?!

Touch wood I have recovered quite well and am hoping to return to part-time work this year, so I’m not tooo worried either way, but I would like to take advantage of the Permitted Hours rules.

Thanks, Colin
Last edit: 8 years 2 months ago by slugsta.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 2 months ago #151859 by slugsta
Replied by slugsta on topic ESA renewed without me knowing?!
Hi and welcome to the forum. On the assumption that you are also new to the site this link should help you find your way around. I'm glad that your treatment has been successful and you are doing well :)

Welcome to Benefits and Work

I don't know if you are aware that your real name is visible on the forum? Many people prefer to use an alias in order to maintain a degree of anonymity. You can change your username easily by following the advice in this FAQ.