× Members

Esa Disabled Student

More
7 years 9 months ago #162615 by Richard
Esa Disabled Student was created by Richard
Hi. I am a full time student of 2 years, I have been in receipt of esa the whole time I have been a student. Recently I was turned down for pip so my dla claim was shut down, today esa have told me my claim has been shut down as I am not on dla or pip and apparently I have to be on one of these to claim esa whilst being a student. Can anyone tell me if this is correct? And also if a claim is shut down do you have to make a new one or can they reopen it?

Many Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 9 months ago - 7 years 9 months ago #162631 by slugsta
Replied by slugsta on topic Esa Disabled Student
Hi Richard and Welcome to the forum, you might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explain where everything is

Welcome to Benefits and Work

Yes, I'm afraid it is correct that, as a full-time student, you can only be in reciept of ESa if you are also on DLA/PIP.

If you were to appeal the PIP result and it was re-instated, I think your ESA wouild also be re-instated. If you were to make a new claim for PIP, you would also have to re-claim ESA once the PIP is awarded.

If you wish to take your current PIP claim further, you first step would be to request a Mandatory Reconsideration. This is explained in more detail in our PIP guide

PIP help for claimants

You might want to bookmark/favourite this on your web browser now so that you can find it easily in future. This will allow you to return with further questions about your PIP without having to start a new topic each time. It helps us enormously when everything relating to the same claim is kept in one place - and I hope you will find it useful too :)

Nothing on this board constitutes legal advice - always consult a professional about specific problems
Last edit: 7 years 9 months ago by slugsta.

More
7 years 9 months ago #163761 by nicola