× Members

Means-tested benefits... oh dear!

More
7 years 8 months ago #165233 by Richard G
Means-tested benefits... oh dear! was created by Richard G
It's hard to write about what is actually quite a complicated story in summary. Please bear with me, gentle readers.

I used to be an IT consultant (I had my own company), until it became impossible for me to carry on working in 1998.

In simple terms, I existed for many years on IB and 10p/week (yes, you read that right) Income Support. Fortunately, I don't drink or smoke or have any expensive vices, so I managed by being prudent. In 2010, I was granted DLA, and my income almost doubled overnight! I would have applied for this years earlier, except having worked all my life up to then, I didn't even know it existed.

Not being one to go on a spending binge, I remained careful with what I was given, and used it carefully. By February this year, I had saved enough money to buy a second-hand car (Mondeo Diesel automatic, 4 years old). About £14,000 in round numbers - I needed a fairly big car because I have to carry around a scooter (itself second-hand, and a bit long in the tooth now). Take it as read that I consider a car as vital, and a lifeline.

In March this year, I had a call from a compliance officer moaning that I had over £6,000 in savings. I didn't say "so what", but simply said "yes", how else do I buy a car? People on ESA don't get loans (not credit worthy), so the obvious thing was to save my DLA to buy it. I had read so many horror stories about people losing out when DLA converted to PIP that I wouldn't consider motability for fear of losing my car at a moment's notice, not to mention other fairly expensive things that have to be replaced now and again. My hospital bed costs £3,000 when the time comes to replace my current one. This newer car won't last forever either, so it's an ongoing process.