× Members

Migration to UC - Currently receiving enhanced PIP and Tax Credits

More
2 months 6 days ago #294203 by Lesley Kerrigan
I'm completely new to UC.

I am self employed as this is easiest for me to manage with my disability. I am on enhanced PIP for personal care and my condition varies through the month.

I have been forced to migrate away from legacy benefits WTC, CTC, HB to UC. I have a meeting next week with a 'work coach' and am anxious about this. I run a small business which I work very hard at when I am well. on days when I can't work I catch up later.

They have mentioned viability of my business and they need details of my monthly income, this obviously fluctuates, no business has the same income and expenditure each month.

I have all the documentation they require re HMRC, tax returns, social media, my website, invoices etc etc.

I know nothing about work capability/ESA etc.
Please can anyone give me advice or tell me where to look, I'm completely in the dark and so far everyone I speak to at DWP is vague, gives conflicting answers or I am scared to trust.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 months 6 days ago #294204 by David
Hi Lk24,

The situation you are in as a self employed person claiming UC is complex and the best thing would be for you to get appropriate advice from a local Welfare Benefits Advice agency or maybe even Citizens Advice.

Having said that the Jobcentre should give you a copy of the leaflet for the self employed in the link below. Maybe show the leaflet for to your Work Coach when you attend the Jobcentre and see if he/she has any comments.

www.housingsystems.co.uk/Portals/0/Docum...017-08-27-075642-640

Hope this helps,
David

Nothing on this board constitutes legal advice - always consult a professional about specific problems
The following user(s) said Thank You: Lesley Kerrigan

More
2 months 6 days ago #294206 by Lesley Kerrigan