× Members

statement of reasons (SOR)

More
2 weeks 4 days ago #292227 by WalesQ
statement of reasons (SOR) was created by WalesQ
I've been applying for PIP since November 2022 in October 2023 I asked for a statement of reasons (SOR). Been waiting and asking what is happening. Been told it's with the judge but they can't say how long. With my metal health being stressed with daily life this waiting has been so hard.

Then in June 2024 I was told the following...

"Your request is with the judge and you will hear from them in due course. However there has been an error on the part of HMCTS in referring your request swiftly and correctly. This has only come to light recently, and I am writing to make you aware of it.

When you sent in your SOR request, this was not properly referred, so the judge was not informed that a SOR was required.

Furthermore, when this request has been chased several times, we failed to notice this error had happened. You were incorrectly informed that the request was with the judge, when it wasn't.

This has been rectified and is now with the judge, but has caused an unnecessary delay for you. I am very sorry that this happened, especially at an already stressful time. I appreciate that during your appeal you rely on HMCTS to ensure the process runs smoothly, and in this case we failed to do this. Please be assured that this has been escalated to the appropriate level to ensure we can avoid such instances in the future. This has also been registered as a complaint."

Has anyone had this happen and can anything be down about it from my point of view?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 weeks 4 days ago #292261 by Gary
Replied by Gary on topic statement of reasons (SOR)
Hi WalesQ

Welcome to the forum.

You might want to have a look at the following FAQ which explains where everything is; www.benefitsandwork.co.uk/guides-for-claimants/faq/forum.